The Importance of Your Final Wishes

Published December 14, 2014 by Amplio Recorrido

The one thing that no one wants to talk about is death. For so many people it’s a scary thought especially when you’re young and healthy or somewhat healthy. However, when I was 18, I started thinking about what I would want when I die even though I had no plans of dying any time soon. I have had people say that it’s morbid and makes me seem like I have an obsession with death. Actually, it’s the opposite. I’m afraid of death just as much as the next person.

I found that despite what people want to believe, there are many people who die very young and it’s left up to the family as to what they may have wanted. I personally don’t want that. If something were to ever happen to me, I want the ability to make decisions for myself and I found the best way to do that is to have an Advance Directive in place. An Advance Directive is a way for you to write down exactly what you want, have 2 witnesses sign it, get it notarized if you desire to and give copies to your doctors, your local hospital and family or friends.

I found that the easiest form to fill out was a form called Five Wishes and it’s free to anyone who wants a copy mailed to them. There’s many different questions inside the Five Wishes and you simply write your answer to the questions below and then write anything else you would like. Some of the most important questions they ask you are things like Do you want life support? Do you want Artificial Nutrition? What music would you like played at your funeral? Things like that. It gives a clear cut and legal way for you to speak for yourself through your handwriting when you cannot speak for yourself verbally.

Now, I’m sure that so many of you will wonder why I would write a blog like this but honestly, I think it’s important to talk to people about what their options are and how to go about it without the expense of going through a lawyer or having to go to court and get a judge to sign your document. There are so many things going on in this world right now and so many people who are involved in innocent deaths and some who choose to end their lives. No matter what happens, be prepared. You can obtain a copy of Five Wishes here: http://www.amedisys.com/patients-and-caregivers/health-resources/advanced-directives

Leave a Reply

